Intermittent/cyclic etidronate 400 mg/day vs placebo: Non‐vertebral fractures
Intermittent/cyclic etidronate 400 mg/day showed no clear difference in non‐vertebral fractures compared with placebo (low certainty).
What each review found
Include earlier review versions| Finding | Effect | Studies | GRADE certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Intermittent/cyclic etidronate 400 mg/day vs placebo Non‐vertebral fractures · postmenopausal women with a higher risk for fracturesa Intermittent/cyclic etidronate 400 mg/day showed no clear difference in non‐vertebral fractures compared with placebo (low certainty). Etidronate for the primary and secondary prevention of osteoporotic fractures in postmenopausal women (2024) · Cochrane Headline outcomes only | RR 1.07 [0.72, 1.58] | Not reported | Low |
Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.
The reviews
| Review | Searched up to | Included studies | AMSTAR 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Etidronate for the primary and secondary prevention of osteoporotic fractures in postmenopausal women 2024 · Cochrane Headline outcomes only | Not reported | list not extracted yet | Not assessed |
Studies behind the findings
None of these reviews ties its included studies to this outcome in the data here. Cochrane reviews and reviews with headline outcomes only do not list their studies yet.
How reviews are matched to this question
Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.