Question · asked by 1 review
Antibiotics vs placebo or no treatment: Infected episiotomy/laceration (deep perineal wound infection № of participants: 3420 (1 RCT)
- Population
- Women undergoing operative vaginal delivery
- Intervention
- Antibiotics
- Comparison
- placebo or no treatment
- Outcome
- Infected episiotomy/laceration (deep perineal wound infection № of participants: 3420 (1 RCT)
Any antibiotics leads to lower infected episiotomy/laceration (deep perineal wound infection № of… compared with placebo or no treatment (high certainty).
What each review found
Include earlier review versions| Finding | Effect | Studies | GRADE certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Any antibiotics vs placebo or no treatment Infected episiotomy/laceration (deep perineal wound infection № of participants: 3420 (1 RCT) · operative vaginal delivery Any antibiotics leads to lower infected episiotomy/laceration (deep perineal wound infection № of… compared with placebo or no treatment (high certainty). Antibiotic prophylaxis for operative vaginal delivery (2020) · Cochrane Headline outcomes only | RR 0.46 [0.31, 0.69] | Not reported | High |
Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.
The reviews
| Review | Searched up to | Included studies | AMSTAR 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Antibiotic prophylaxis for operative vaginal delivery 2020 · Cochrane Headline outcomes only | Not reported | Not extracted | Not assessed |
How reviews are matched to this question
Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.