Question · asked by 1 review

Preformed metal crown (PMC) vs Resin-modified glass-ionomer cement + composite resin (modified open-sandwich restoration): Treatment failure (annual failure rate)

Population
Children with carious primary molars treated by pulpotomy (vital pulp therapy)
Intervention
Preformed metal crown (PMC)
Comparison
Resin-modified glass-ionomer cement + composite resin (modified open-sandwich restoration)
Outcome
Treatment failure (annual failure rate)

Preformed metal crowns had a low annual failure rate (2.5%) in primary molars after pulpotomy, but the evidence is of low quality (single high-risk-of-bias split-mouth RCT; not GRADE-rated).

What each review found

Include earlier review versions
No studies found 0 · 0%GRADE not reported 2 · 100%Very low 0 · 0%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%
FindingEffectStudiesGRADE certainty
Preformed metal crown (PMC) vs Resin-modified glass-ionomer cement + composite resin (modified open-sandwich restoration)
Treatment failure (annual failure rate) · Children with carious primary molars treated by pulpotomy (vital pulp therapy) · 2 years, General dental practise, Saudi Arabia (Atieh 2008), PMC arm
Preformed metal crowns had a low annual failure rate (2.5%) in primary molars after pulpotomy, but the evidence is of low quality (single high-risk-of-bias split-mouth RCT; not GRADE-rated).
Clinical effectiveness of restorative materials for the restoration of carious lesions in pulp treated… (2022) All outcomes
AFR 2.51 study · 87 participantsGRADE not reported
Preformed metal crown (PMC) vs Resin-modified glass-ionomer cement + composite resin (modified open-sandwich restoration)
Treatment failure (annual failure rate) · Children with carious primary molars treated by pulpotomy (vital pulp therapy) · 2 years, General dental practise, Saudi Arabia (Atieh 2008), RMGIC + composite resin (modified open-sandwich) arm
Modified open-sandwich (RMGIC + composite resin) restorations had an annual failure rate of 3.8% in primary molars after pulpotomy (single high-risk-of-bias RCT; low quality of evidence; not GRADE-rated).
Clinical effectiveness of restorative materials for the restoration of carious lesions in pulp treated… (2022) All outcomes
AFR 3.81 study · 87 participantsGRADE not reported

Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.

The reviews

Studies behind the findings

The primary studies the full-text reviews tie to this outcome. Reviews with headline outcomes only do not list them here.

How reviews are matched to this question

Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.